Jaguar XE Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK chaps I've posted a couple of threads regarding a prospective purchase which I've selected over others because of spec levels (among other things). My background is Ford Motor Co but spent 5 years at Whitley Eng Ctr on the launch of X-Type - soup-to-nuts and dis high speed and high ambient testing on that model with the Jag guys. So, I know a bit about Jags (older ones) and have grown up recently with Ford cars. I have become somewhat complacent regarding spec levels as I've always had top spec cars from Ford but now want something 'different' and dare I say it 'better'. BUT - when looking at specs of prospective XE's I don't see the same offerings generally. Nowadays I expect my next car to have the following:
1. Auto lights and wipers
2. Heated front screen
3. Folding rear seat
4. Rear camera
5. BLIS (for Jag read Blind Spot Awareness)
6. Electric seat adjustment

All above are on my current Ford car which is middle-of-the-road model.
My question is how many other XE owners make use of the above - am I concerned about nothing?

I recognise most XE's come with a raft of other 'extras' on top of the Ford offerings but I have made a strict rule with myself to only consider those with the above options. Should I be concerned or spread my options?

Obviously the first consideration is body colour and interior. Then trim level - I think the R-Sport is the most attractive. Oh, and Diesels are definitely OUT. Any petrol engines are IN but I'm not concerned which one (200-380PS) and not bothered with AWD but low miles and 1-owner a big advantage. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,318 Posts