Ad Blue Incorrect Quality and 512 mile Warning

Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Faults and Fixes
Swallows

Ad Blue Incorrect Quality and 512 mile Warning

Post by Swallows » Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:42 pm

Hi,

My first diesel and first XE (MY15 37450 miles), which on the whole I have been enjoying for 2 months (about 500 miles), having moved from petrol XJ12, Sovereigns and S-types. I was told by the car dealership I bought it from, they would top up the AdBlue, obviously not?

Today I received a orange warning light "In correct Diesel Exhaust Fluid Quality Detected" then about 15 minutes later same error with "No Engine restarts in 512 miles In correct Diesel Exhaust Fluid Quality Detected " It has recently done a 150 mile trip at motorway speeds, very smooth running.

I have searched but am not clear about adding AdBlue, 1. because of the "In correct Diesel Exhaust Fluid Quality Detected" error and 2. guidance says add two bottles, then visit Jaguar for AdBlue fill up. Is it one or the other? Can I fill with AdBlue and that is enough or does it have to go to Jaguar for the AdBlue system?

Thank you
XE 180 Portfolio + several upgrades -Black Cherry Barolo
Past joys several: Jaguar S-Type 3.0 Jaguar XJ6's Sovereign 4.0 & Sport's 4.0, X350 V8, Jaguar XJS V12 6.0

RoJo

Re: Ad Blue Incorrect Quality and 512 mile Warning

Post by RoJo » Sun Sep 08, 2019 7:53 pm

I'd be wary about adding any more Adblue as the warning message is about quality, not quantity. In my opinion, it needs to go back to the supplying dealer to sort out, there's a whole saga about these messages.

Adding the DEF is simple, when required. It's a cheap and simple job, just be sure not to overfill.
Currently a Caesium Blue 30T Portfolio :D
Previously a Corris grey 25D R-sport.

RoJo

Post by RoJo » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:36 pm

A simple Adblue quality tester can be bought for £12. Might give you more leverage when talking to the car trader.

Indianajons

Post by Indianajons » Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:31 pm