Jaguar XE Forum banner

KW V3 inox coilovers

6K views 15 replies 5 participants last post by  Phil 
#1 ·
Anyone has experience with the above? Looking to lower the ride slightly without compromising ride compliance too much. My XE doesn't come with adaptive suspension. Thanks!

#2 ·
I have no experience with those particular units but in general the spring rates on aftermarket adjustable coilovers is much higher than the stock spring, and they nearly always result in a much firmer ride. Have you considered lowering springs instead? I have the H&R springs on mine and the ride is great

Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Sky

Wheel Car Vehicle Tire Plant

Attachments

#3 ·
Thanks Phil for the quick reply? Any idea on the stock spring rates? Hesitant to use lowering springs as it will affect the lifespan of the stock absorbers.

Phil said:
I have no experience with those particular units but in general the spring rates on aftermarket adjustable coilovers is much higher than the stock spring, and they nearly always result in a much firmer ride. Have you considered lowering springs instead? I have the H&R springs on mine and the ride is great

IMG_20200426_151135 (Large).jpg

IMG_20200718_184744 (2) (Large).jpg

#4 ·
Lowering springs are generally such a mild increase that it does not cause any appreciable wear on the dampers, I've been using them for years on various cars and not had a premature failure yet. I don't have any data for the XE but for example, on my RX-8 the stock rates in N per MM are 27 front and 20 rear. Eibach lowering springs are 33 front and 24 rear. The softest adjustable coilovers we have on file are the Tein Street Basis units which are 60 front and 40 rear - quite a big jump as you can see.

Now obviously they are matched with much higher damping rates but this will still cause a very firm ride. I've never experienced a set of coilovers that give anywhere near the compliance of the stock setup as the increase in firmness is usually the main goal.

#6 ·