It’s time Jaguar owner

New to the Jaguar XE Forums? Introduce yourself here
Doug1e

It’s time Jaguar owner

Post by Doug1e » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:46 pm

Hi everyone, just purchase our first Jaguar Xe R-Sport 180, my 2017. Previously had a mk3 Audi TT. Early days but we are loving the Jaguar. The ride is so comfortable and everything feels solid. This is my first auto since my Rover 75 days and loving it.
Only had it a few days and we have had snow and ice since. I am new to an automatic so not sure if I’m driving it wrong. The issue I have is it’s terrible in snow/ice. When parked at work there is a very slight slope I have to drive out and it’s cover in snow. I’m finding it very difficult to pull out of my parking bay with snow as the rear wheel keeps spinning. I’ve tried driving out and reversing out and rear wheels are spinning. I’ve tried in drive and the snow flake mode but still not gripping.
Any advice on how I should be pulling away in snow/ice would be greatly appreciated.
Jaguar XE R-Sport D Auto 180, 67 plate, Indus Silver,19" alloys, Merdian, rear camera, parking pack, Xeon, panoramic sunroof, memory seats, folding mirrors, Nokian WR A4 winter tyres.

martind511

Re: It’s time Jaguar owner

Post by martind511 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:56 pm

Hello - have you tried using the 'All Surface Progress Control'? The button is located in front of the parking brake button and acts like a low speed cruise control when driving on difficult surfaces - it worked well last year when my XF was stuck on the drive becuase of the snow.
MY 2019 Jaguar XE Landmark 25T - Santorini Black, Sunroof, 10 way electric seats, folding mirrors and split fold seats.
MY 2018 Jaguar F-Pace Portfolio 25T - BRG with Latté interior, Sunroof, LED adaptive Lights, ICTP and Electrically Deployable Towbar.

Doug1e

Post by Doug1e » Thu Jan 31, 2019 9:06 pm

Hi Martin, yes I used it today but the rear wheels just kept spinning on the snow. Maybe I wasn’t using it correctly but this is what I done.