Stolen :(

All Jaguar XE related discussions
Stolenjag

Stolen :(

Post by Stolenjag » Sun Feb 21, 2021 2:23 pm

Hi all,

Long time lurker on the forum, I had hoped my first post would have been under better circumstances. Last night my 2016 XE R-Sport was stolen from outside of my house. I heard my car alarm go for what must have been only about 10 seconds - as I went out to check they were speeding away with my car! I captured the whole incident on CCTV - it seems they come to the drivers door and it looks (and sounds) like they “pop” the lock within 30 seconds, once they are in the car the alarm sounds but is stopped after 10 seconds and a further 10 seconds later the car is started and being driven away.

I have an active in control subscription & that says the car is parked a couple of streets away (it isn’t) so they seem to have somehow bypassed/disabled that too.

How?? Surely it shouldn’t be this easy to steal an expensive modern car? It’s not even keyless entry

RoJo

Re: Stolen :(

Post by RoJo » Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:01 pm

Jeez, what a way to start on a forum! Commiserations.

Sounds like they got in through the OBD port, which shouldn't be possible of course. Did they get the doors open and was it double locked?
Currently a Caesium Blue 30T Portfolio
Previously a Corris grey 25D R-sport

ChrisGB

Post by ChrisGB » Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:08 pm

Sorry to hear this. Trouble is, the criminal scum make a full time job of developing ways to steal people's hard earned money and possessions, so what was secured last year is easy pickings this year. If your car has been targeted, there's very little you can do prevent them taking it. The law is a toothless sham, so there's no motivation for them so desist. Put me in charge of things, I'll sort the scum out properly.
S 380, ICT Pro, resale grey. Fun and comfy!

Stolenjag

Post by Stolenjag » Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:14 pm

RoJo wrote:
Sun Feb 21, 2021 3:01 pm
Jeez, what a way to start on a forum! Commiserations.